HISTORY

HISTORY

The historical western post office is on Hauptstrasse in the Schöneberg district of Berlin. The listed complex of buildings was built for the former German National Postal Service in 1901/1902 according to the architectural plans of Otto Spalding and Luis Ratzeburg and was often extended and refurbished before 1927. At the end of the 20s and in the early 30s, the building was extended to house the southern telephone exchange office under the guidance of the architect Fritz Nissle. The historical character has remained here in the charming stairways and the building’s numerous unique details.

VISION

The entire floor is planned to be extended in the spirit of conserving this tradition. The well-preserved, central brickwork functions as a connection between the old and the new. The proposed fresh constructions will also have a modern brick front, lending this unique project its name: BRICKS Berlin Schöneberg.

The techniques involved in linking and joining the bricks will be aided by a parametric stylistic design to bring the space into the 21st century. The existing buildings will continue to be used as commercial spaces and rental apartments of various sizes in new constructions will be created. In this way, the courtyard space will become a lively mix of living spaces, gastronomy, small-scale retail outlets and commerce. Not only will the BRICKS project restore the historical post office but, additionally, it is set to offer a revival of the surrounding area by rejuvenating and adding additional character to this unique neighbourhood as a whole.

HISTORY

The historical western post office is on Hauptstrasse in the Schöneberg district of Berlin. The listed complex of buildings was built for the former German National Postal Service in 1901/1902 according to the architectural plans of Otto Spalding and Luis Ratzeburg and was often extended and refurbished before 1927. At the end of the 20s and in the early 30s, the building was extended to house the southern telephone exchange office under the guidance of the architect Fritz Nissle. The historical character has remained here in the charming stairways and the building’s numerous unique details.

VISION

The entire floor is planned to be extended in the spirit of conserving this tradition. The well-preserved, central brickwork functions as a connection between the old and the new. The proposed fresh constructions will also have a modern brick front, lending this unique project its name: BRICKS Berlin Schöneberg.

The techniques involved in linking and joining the bricks will be aided by a parametric stylistic design to bring the space into the 21st century. The existing buildings will continue to be used as commercial spaces and rental apartments of various sizes in new constructions will be created. In this way, the courtyard space will become a lively mix of living spaces, gastronomy, small-scale retail outlets and commerce. Not only will the BRICKS project restore the historical post office but, additionally, it is set to offer a revival of the surrounding area by rejuvenating and adding additional character to this unique neighbourhood as a whole.

GESCHICHTE

GESCHICHTE

Das alte Postfuhramt West steht in der Hauptstraße im Berliner Ortsteil Schöneberg. Der denkmalgeschützte Gebäudekomplex wurde 1901/1902 nach den Plänen der Architekten Otto Spalding und Luis Ratzeburg für die Deutsche Reichspost erbaut und bis 1927 mehrfach an- und ausgebaut. Ende der 20er, Anfang der 30er Jahre folgte der Anbau des Fernsprechamtes Süd unter der Leitung des Architekten Fritz Nissle. Der historische Charme ist hier in charmanten Treppenhäusern und vielen spannenden Details erhalten geblieben.

VISION

Diese Tradition aufnehmend soll die Gesamtanlage weitergebaut werden. Der Ziegelstein steht in seiner Essenz im Zentrum und gilt als Bindeglied zwischen alt und neu. Auch die geplanten Neubauten erhalten eine moderne Ziegelfassaden und verleihen diesem einzigartigen Projekt seinen Namen, BRICKS Berlin Schöneberg. Die Techniken des Verbandes und des Fügens des Ziegels sollen mit Hilfe einer parametrischen Formensprache ins 21. Jahrhundert überführt werden. Die vorhandenen Bestandsgebäude werden weiterhin als Gewerbe genutzt und in den Neubauten ist die Realisierung unterschiedlich großer Mietwohnungen geplant. So entsteht in diesem Höfe-Areal ein lebendiger Mix aus Wohnen, Gastronomie, kleinteiligem Einzelhandel und Gewerbeflächen, der den Kiez aufgreift und eine über das Grundstück hinausgehende Aufwertung und Weiterführung des typischen Charakters in der gesamten Nachbarschaft zur Folge haben wird.

GESCHICHTE

Das alte Postfuhramt West steht in der Hauptstraße im Berliner Ortsteil Schöneberg. Der denkmalgeschützte Gebäudekomplex wurde 1901/1902 nach den Plänen der Architekten Otto Spalding und Luis Ratzeburg für die Deutsche Reichspost erbaut und bis 1927 mehrfach an- und ausgebaut. Ende der 20er, Anfang der 30er Jahre folgte der Anbau des Fernsprechamtes Süd unter der Leitung des Architekten Fritz Nissle. Der historische Charme ist hier in charmanten Treppenhäusern und vielen spannenden Details erhalten geblieben.

VISION

Diese Tradition aufnehmend soll die Gesamtanlage weitergebaut werden. Der Ziegelstein steht in seiner Essenz im Zentrum und gilt als Bindeglied zwischen alt und neu. Auch die geplanten Neubauten erhalten eine moderne Ziegelfassaden und verleihen diesem einzigartigen Projekt seinen Namen, BRICKS Berlin Schöneberg. Die Techniken des Verbandes und des Fügens des Ziegels sollen mit Hilfe einer parametrischen Formensprache ins 21. Jahrhundert überführt werden. Die vorhandenen Bestandsgebäude werden weiterhin als Gewerbe genutzt und in den Neubauten ist die Realisierung unterschiedlich großer Mietwohnungen geplant. So entsteht in diesem Höfe-Areal ein lebendiger Mix aus Wohnen, Gastronomie, kleinteiligem Einzelhandel und Gewerbeflächen, der den Kiez aufgreift und eine über das Grundstück hinausgehende Aufwertung und Weiterführung des typischen Charakters in der gesamten Nachbarschaft zur Folge haben wird.